Uniting, Organizing, Empowering Members


Members - Scholarships, Awards & Grants - Marvin Dodson-Carl Perkins Scholarship

The Marvin Dodson-Carl Perkins Scholarships are sponsored by the Kentucky Education Association and presented to the winners at the KEA Delegate Assembly.

The KEA Visibility Committee has selected the eight recipients of the Marvin Dodson-Carl Perkins KEA Scholarships for 2016. Four members of the KEA Student Program will receive $1,000 awards and four will receive $500 awards.

The $1,000 scholarships will go to Tyler Forsythe and Joshua Kalso, of Murray State University- Madisonville; Skyler Nunley of West Kentucky Community and Technical College; and Jazzmine Wallace of the University of Kentucky.

Recipients of the $500 scholarship awards are Michaela Westerman and Tara Moore of Murray State University-Hopkinsville; Alyssa Harris of Murray State University-Paducah; and Casey Hogg of Morehead State University.

The committee selected Destiny Amiott to receive KEA-Retired’s $1,000 Fred Hester Scholarship.

Any member of the KEA Student Program who is a junior, senior, or post-baccalaureate student or MAT candidate and plans to teach in Kentucky is eligible to apply for the Dodson-Perkins KEA Scholarship. Applicants are judged on their leadership and involvement in the Student Program, their community involvement through KEA and their commitment to stay involved in the Association at the local state or national level.

The 2106 awards will be presented to the winners at the KEA Delegate Assembly, Friday, April 8, at the Marriott Louisville Downtown.

Guidelines for the 2017 Dodson-Perkins Scholarships will be posted in September. Applications will be due in December.

If you have questions about the scholarships, contact KEA Communication Director Charles Main, by email to

Bookmark and Share  Print